Britten War Requiem

Sheffield Oratorio Britten War Requiem A5 Flyer

Benjamin Britten's War Requiem is a work on a large scale, employing a main orchestra, a chamber orchestra, 3 soloists and a boys' choir. Britten employs the Latin texts of the Requiem and the war poetry of Wilfred Owen. Composed for the new Coventry Cathedral in 1962 following its rebuilding, its title page echoes Owen's mantra: "My subject is war and the pity of war".

Pre-concert talk
There will be a pre-concert talk by Mervyn Cooke, head of the Department of Music at Nottingham University, starting at 6.30pm. The doors will open at 6.15pm and entry to the talk will be by concert tickets only.

Please note that there will be no admission during the talk, but concert tickets will be available before the talk starts and when the doors reopen at 7.30pm.

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Alan Eost, Neil Taylor and Joshua Hales Conductors
Jonathon Gooing
Fraser Wilson

Laura Mitchell Soprano
Mark Wilde Tenor
Ross Ramgobin Baritone

Sheffield Cathedral Choristers

  • Britten
    • War Requiem

02 July 2016 at 8.00pm
Sheffield Cathedral
Church Street, Sheffield S1 1HA Map/directions

Tickets £20/£15 (concessions £17/£12)